Chris Colfer releases 10th Anniversary Edition of bestselling book: The Wishing Spell


Harsh Desai

The 10th Anniversary Edition contains vibrant illustrations to help readers visualize the unfolding story.

Imagine finding an old family heirloom, a treasury of classic fairy tales, that accidentally transports you and your sibling into a fantasy world when you open it, filled with both beauty and danger. This is the premise of Chris Colfer’s The Land of Stories, following twins Alex and Conner as they brave the dangers of this fantasy world and help restore peace.

Colfer’s acclaimed series had its tenth anniversary on July 17, when the first book The Wishing Spell was released. The book quickly gained traction, becoming a #1 New York Times bestseller, as well as one of Barnes & Noble’s “best books of 2012.”

“I just did it for my own mental health to just get the story out of my mind… I’m thrilled it found such a huge audience,” Colfer said in a KTLA 5 Morning News interview.

To celebrate the momentous occasion, Colfer released a brand new edition of the original book, titled The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell: 10th Anniversary Illustrated Edition on October 11. The first print of the new book is limited and includes gilded edges along with a ribbon bookmark; it also includes over 20 new full-page illustrations by Brandon Dorman, the original illustrator, and a new author’s note.

Looking back, The Land of Stories series has been rewarded with success, with the main series containing six books, each of which has an enormous scope, family complications, unpredictable twists, and frightening threats. With all of this, the more simple writing style makes clear that the series is written for children, though the story itself provides something for all ages to enjoy.

Colfer has published additional books within this world, including:

  • Adventures from the Land of Stories: The Mother Goose Diaries & Queen Red Riding Hood’s Guide to Royalty
  • Children’s picture books: 
    • The Curvy Tree 
    • Trollbella Throws a Party
  • A Treasury of Classic Fairy Tales, retold by Colfer
  • The Ultimate Book Hugger’s Guide, a “comprehensive” look at the series, its characters, additional chapters, and behind-the-scenes information.
  • Goldilocks: Wanted Dead or Alive, the most recent spin-off telling of the character’s origin story in a graphic novel style

Colfer has also published three books in a spin-off series titled A Tale of Magic, which details Brystal Evergreen’s story before she becomes the Fairy Godmother and Alex & Conner’s grandmother.

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell: 10th Anniversary Illustrated Edition is available for purchase everywhere books are sold.