Silver and Gold in Abundance at National Latin Exam

Knight Crier

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

TOWAMENCIN- North Penn High School Latin teacher, Mr. Jonathan Rockey, wishes to publicly recognize the excellent results achieved by North Penn High School Latin scholars in this year’s National Latin Exam.

Not only do the 2012 scores contain the highest number of awarded scores overall, but the highest number of Gold and Silver awards ever in the last six years. Mirabile dictu, most individual classes were also within a point of the national average for their level, and three classes surpassed the national average, a truly laudable achievement.

 It is gratifying to have our Latin scholars’ efforts affirmed and recognized by participation in this exam, developed and administered by the American Classical League. As many as 200,000-plus students in high schools and colleges both within and beyond the United States take the exam. Special thanks to our triumvirate of middle school teachers (Galuchie, Scott, Wesson) who laid the foundation for these students’ success, and to Ms. Karen Holmes and her staff who proctor the exam. Ad astra per aspera!

 The name of Bria Blackshear (Latin III, ’14) was mistakenly omitted from the original posting of this article about NPHS award winners in this year’s National Latin Exam. Bria distinguished herself by earning a Silver Maxima Cum Laude award. Congratulations, Bria!”

Gold Summa Cum Laude

Rachael Groat (I, ’12)

Samuel Curlee (III, ’14)

Patrick Geiger (IV, ’13)

Jeong Julia Heo (III, ’14)

Matthew Kim (IV, ’13)

Andrea Mobley (IV, ’13)

Monisha Ravi (III, ’14)

Christopher You (IV, ’13)


Silver Maxima Cum Laude

David Bisio (V, ’12)

Bria Blackshear (Latin III, ’14)

Matthew Chaffee (III, ’14)

Erin Fisher (I, ’12)

Emily Gross (I, ’12)

Yejin Stephanie Hong (V, ’12)

Courtney Jirsa (III, ’14)

Min Kim (III, ’14)

Jacob Konyk (IV, ’13)

Matthew Morgado (IV, ’13)

Albert Stein (III, ’14)

Aspen Trautz (I, ’13)





Magna Cum Laude

Matthew Cooper (II, ’14)

Melissa Laughlin (III, ’13)

Raj Madhani (III, ’14)

Reece Maurer (III, ’14)

Brittany Rorer (IV, ’13)

Rebecca Rosenblatt (III, ’14)

Sussan Saikali (I, ’13)

Poojita Sharan (III, ’14)


Cum Laude

Michael Bonagura (III, ’14)

Blake Champagne (III, ’14)

Elliott Goldberg (IV, ’13)

Cameron Healey (III, ’14)

MatthewLeung (III, ’14)

Anita Mathew (III, ’14)

Corwin Menefee (I, ’12)

Mohmed Momin (III, ’14)

Min Oh (I, ’15)

Shabikoon Nahar (I, ’13)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email