Rupi Kaur’s new books are slam hits


Skyler Simpson

Staff writer Skyler Simpson reviews Rupi Kaur's poetry books.

By now, most people have heard of Rupi Kaur. She made big waves in the community with her first book, Milk and Honey. The poetry book featured deep, personal stories about herself and her relationships and her fans eagerly wanted more. Just last October, Kaur released her second book, The Sun and Her Flowers, which was also a hit.

Milk and Honey – 10/10

Summary: The book is split up into 4 parts: The Hurting, The Loving, The Breaking, and The Healing. The Hurting focuses on Kaur’s personal life and how she dealt with severe trauma in her childhood. The Loving is pretty self-explanatory, where she talks about her relationships and how they affect her. The Breaking is centered around the endings of relationships, and how she copes with the loss of people in her life. The Healing isn’t just healing from a break-up, but a journey into herself that challenges her to be happier.

Favorite Poem:

what’s the greatest lesson a woman should learn?

that since day one. she’s already had everything

she needs within herself. it’s the world that convinced

her she did not.”

The Sun and Her Flowers – 10/10

Summary: The book is split up into 5 parts: Wilting, Falling, Rooting, Rising, and Blooming. Wilting is about her depression and struggle to stay happy when the world is seemingly against her. Falling is the counterpart to Wilting, but it’s more in depth as she chronicles herself giving into her sadness. Rooting focuses on a completely different topic, featuring poems about her journey to America and what life was like for her growing up in a different country than she was born in. Rising is the chapter about her passion for life and love. Blooming is about independence, and how she’s grown to love and accept herself without the help of someone else.

Favorite Poem:

“it isn’t what we left behind

that breaks me

it’s what we could’ve built

had we stayed”